The Leeds Teaching Hospitals NHS Trust

Patients & Visitors

Appointments on Patient Hub

Patient Hub

Welcome to Patient Hub! This is a new way to access and manage your hospital appointments at Leeds Teaching Hospitals - giving you more control of your appointments and additional support in getting you to the right place at the right time.

Through an easily online web service, we will be introducing this new digital service over the next few months.

A text or email notification will invite you to join Patient Hub. If this link is not used and the letter not accessed within 72 hours, a paper copy will be sent by post.

What is Patient Hub?

Patient Hub is a secure online portal which allows you to access all of your hospital appointment information in one place, by using your smart phone, tablet or computer.

You’ll be able to easily CONFIRM, request to REBOOK or CANCEL your hospital appointments.

All you have to do is to ensure your hospital records have an up-to-date mobile phone number (or email address).

How to opt out of Patient Hub

Please read the following pdf covering the process for opting out of Patient Hub.

If you are unable to access Patient Hub to change your preferences, complete the Opt Out form.

Frequently Asked Questions

How does it work?

You will receive a text or an e-mail inviting you to access Patient Hub via a weblink.  Do not worry if you do not use the link as in the first instance, an appointment will be sent to you via the post. You will be able to use the link within 72 hours. 

Why are you being offered this new appointment reminder service?

The Trust is offering more communication choice to patients and working hard to become more efficient and sustainable.

By improving our communication with you, you will have all your appointments in one place and are less likely to miss one. As part of our Net Zero (carbon neutral) promise, this will avoid unnecessary printing and postage.

Do I need to create a Patient Hub account?

No, all patients with a registered mobile number and/or email address will automatically have access to this service.

You will be sent a notification when we book you an appointment. This service relies on communicating with you via text message and/or email, so it’s important to check that we have an up to date mobile phone number and email address when you next visit.

How do I access to my account?

The hospital will send you a link by text message or email. You should then follow these steps:

  • Click on the link
  • You’ll be asked to enter either your mobile number or email address, together with your date of birth.
  • You will then be sent a 6-digit authentication code by SMS, or by email if we don’t have your mobile number.
  • Enter the 6-digit code. Please be aware this secure code only lasts for two and a half minutes.
  • You should be securely logged into Patient Hub.
  • Please note: If the appointment is for your child, please use your mobile number or email address and their date of birth to log in.
  • If we have duplicate record on our systems you may be asked to enter a User Verification Code when logging in, please enter this code that is sent to you at the end of the notification.

What information will I get from Patient Hub?

Patient Hub allows you to view all of your appointments, letters and messages in one convenient location. As well as access to all your appointment information, giving you the ability to confirm, rebook or cancel your hospital appointments. It will provide everything you would normally receive in the post.

Do I need to download Patient Hub as an app from an app store?

No, there is no need to download anything. When the hospital sends you the first appointment notification, they will send you a link.

Patient Hub is a web page that you can access at any time. Each time you sign in, you will also be sent a 6-digit security code. There is no need to remember a user name and password.

Is the link always the same?

Yes, the link to your account will stay the same, so you can go back to any text message or email. Every time you are notified about an appointment you will get a reminder of the link.

Do I need to remember a user name and password?

No, you do not have a user name or password.

You will need to securely log in each time you access Patient Hub and the service is designed with security in mind. The text message or email regarding your appointment will be sent to you by the
hospital. Once you click on the link, you will be asked for two forms of identity, to check it really is you. This will be either your mobile number or email address and your date of birth.

This information, coupled with a 6-digit authentication code, forms the secure two factor authentication.

Can I change my appointment?

Yes, you can either accept, rebook or cancel your appointment. If you have accepted an appointment, you can go back in and rebook or cancel the appointment at a later date.

Can it help me with a diary reminder?

Yes, you can click on a diary button to insert a reminder into your smart phone or computer calendar.

You’ll be able to choose how you are notified if you have a preference between text or email.

It is important that you make sure we have your correct contact details.

Can everyone use Patient Hub?

Yes, it is accessible to anyone with a smart phone, tablet or computer.

The initial link needs either a smart phone, tablet or a computer. If you do not have a smart phone you can receive the link and authentication code in an email. You need access to either email or text messages to use Patient Hub.

If you don’t have a smart phone or computer, don’t worry, you will continue to receive your appointment details by letter in the post, together with all the other information.

How long do I have to respond to the text message or email?

The link to your Patient Hub can be accessed at any time. When you log in you will be sent a secure authentication message to complete your log in. This secure code only lasts for two and a half minutes.

If you do not respond to the notification, you will be sent a further two reminder notifications.

If you do not respond to any of the notifications, your appointment letter will be posted to you.

How do I access Patient Hub if I have accidentally deleted the text message from my phone?

There is a link in your diary reminder and a link on the hospital website that directs you to Patient Hub.

I clicked on ‘rebook’ but I haven’t had a call back yet

The hospital booking centre agents will call you as soon as they have availability.

I cancelled my appointment using Patient Hub. How do I know it has been cancelled?

You will receive a call back from the hospital to confirm your cancellation.

What happens if I want to opt out, or still want to receive a letter in the post?

You can access the link to opt out of future communications on Patient Hub or contact your hospital who can do this for you. Opting out also means you will not receive any appointment reminders.

Will all my appointment letters be sent using Patient Hub?

Yes, all letters and other extra information will be sent via Patient Hub. You can review them as
often as you wish.

How will I know where to go when I arrive for my appointment?

Patient Hub has maps to download to your smart phone, tablet or computer.

Will I receive follow-up appointments through Patient Hub?

Yes, all appointment letters and information will be sent via Patient Hub.
If you have more than one appointment you will be able to see all of your appointments in Patient Hub. You can manage (accept, cancel or rebook) each appointment individually.

You can also look back at your previous appointment data, which is securely held in your space for 24 months.