The Leeds Teaching Hospitals NHS Trust

Meet the Team


We've moved!

The main Eye clinic at St James's University Hospital has moved from its previous site on the Ground floor in Chancellor's wing into a new purpose-built department on Level 4 (the first floor) in Gledhow wing, St James's..

We closed the eye department at Chancellors wing on the afternoon of Friday 9 December 2022 and reopened in our new department at Gledhow wing on Monday 12 December 2022.

How to find us

The Clinical Management Team

General Manager: Jonathan Lockwood

Service Manager: Melissa Hepworth

Lead Clinician: Mr Bataung  Mokete  

Business Manager: Rachael Brayson 

Patient Service Co-ordinators:  Emma Holdsworth and  Janet Taylor                                                  

Head of Nursing: Deborah Hall

Matron: Mariano Ponte

Ophthalmology Clinic Senior Sisters: Camelia Tomita and Victoria Psarra 

Ophthalmology ward J25 Sister : Angela Jackson

Head of Service: (Orthoptics): Janice Hoole     There is more information on Orthoptics on the Orthoptics web page

Head of Service: (Optometry): Tim Hunter        There is more information on Optometry on  the Optometry web pages


Consultant Ophthalmologists


 Consultant                                 Clinical Sub speciality


Mr Aws Al-Hity                             Vitreo Retinal

Miss Seema Anand                       Corneal

Mr Oliver Backhouse                     Uveitis / Neuro Ophthalmology

Mr Ahmed Bardan                        Corneal

Miss Kanchan Bhan                       Ocular Inflammatory Disease

Miss Fiona Bishop                          Vitreo Retinal

Mr John Buchan                            Emergency care

Mr Zia Carrim                                Medical Retina / Vitreo Retinal

Mr Bernie Chang                           Oculo Plastics

Mr Bryn Davies                              Cataract / Community Ophthalmology

Mr Simon Dewsbury                      Glaucoma

Mr Evangelos Drimtzias                 Strabismus / Neuro Ophthalmology / Paediatrics

Mr David Dunleavy                        Corneal

Mr Nabil El-Hindy                          Ocular Plastics

Mr Peter Galloway                         Glaucoma

Miss Davina Gogi                           Strabismus / Neuro Ophthalmology / Paediatrics,

Mr Sreedhar Jyothi                        Ocular Plastics

Mr George Kalantzis                      Ocular Plastics

Mr Simon Kolb                              Vitreo Retinal

Mr Ashish Kumar                           Paediatrics

Mr Vernon Long                            Paediatrics

Mr Martin McKibbin                      Medical Retina

Miss Aditi Mohla                           Medical Retina

Mr Bataung  Mokete                      Vitreo Retinal

Mr Andrew Morrell                        Corneal

Mr Raj Mukherjee                          Medical Retina

Mr Edward Ridyard                       Glaucoma

Ms Salina Siddiqui                         Glaucoma





There is more information on the Consultant team on the Consultants web page