The Leeds Teaching Hospitals NHS Trust


Meet The Team

At the Yorkshire Regional Genetics Service we have a professional and experienced group of consultants and counsellors dedicated to ensuring that our patients receive the best possible care.

The vast majority of our team see both general adult and paediatric cases, as well as having an interest in a specialist area. These specialist areas are detailed below.

(Click the headings to expand the lists)

Consultant Clinical Geneticists

  • Professor David Bonthron (cranio-facial disorders)
  • Dr. Jennifer Campbell [Clinical Lead] (prenatal genetics/fetal genomics; paediatric and adult genetics; skeletal genetics/skeletal dysplasias)
  • Dr. Verity Hartill
  • Dr. Jenny Hague
  • Dr. Emma Hobson (HD and neurodegenerative)
  • Dr. Rosalyn Jewell (cancer; paediatric oncology)
  • Dr. Alison Kraus (cancer; HD and neurodegenerative)
  • Dr. Katrina Prescott (inherited cardiac conditions; inherited eye condition; paediatric genetics, dysmorphology; prenatal genetics; pre-implantation genetic diagnosis

Genetic Counsellors

  • Bill Beckett (lead genetic counsellor)
  • Kathryn Ashcroft (genetic counsellor with special interest in cardiology)
  • Kathryn Moore (genetic counsellor with special interest in cardiology)
  • Emma O'Malley (genetic counsellor)
  • Hema McSara (genetic counsellor)
  • Lauren Jones (pre-registration genetic counsellor)
  • Tom Inglehearn (STP genetic counsellor trainee)
  • Rachel Belk (deafness)
  • Kerry Cresswell (prenatal, HD and neurodegenerative)
  • Stephanie Hart (cancer, general, prenatal)
  • Saghira Sharif, PhD (prenatal,general)
  • Jacqueline Hodgkinson (general, cancer, pre-implantation genetic diagnosis)
  • Deborah Holliday (VHL disease, general, cancer, pre-implantation genetic diagnosis)
  • Hannah Musgrave (cancer)
  • Cheryl Stopford (HD and neurodegenerative, general, cancer)

GP with Specialist Interest

  • Dr. Judith Hayward (Cancer)

Nursing Team

  • Carol Irving (NF nurse)
  • Patricia Braithwaite (NF2 nurse)

Senior Management Team

  • Dr. Jennifer Campbell (Clinical Lead)
  • Roberta Ocran (Service Manager)
  • Katherine Thomas (Business Development Manager)
  • Soneel Zafar (Business Support Manager)
    • Hymesha Williams-Crockwell (Patient Services Co-Ordinator)

Administration Team

  • Natalie Mellard (PA to the Senior Management Team)
  • Safaila Akhtar (Appointments Officer)
  • Shabnum Bi (Appointments Officer)
  • Gurdev Singh (Appointments Officer)
  • Bev Owens (Appointments Officer)
  • Liz Swinney (Appointments Officer)
  • Jo Akaw (Senior Medical Secretary)
  • Julie Myers (Senior Medical Secretary)
  • Vincent Byrne (Senior Medical Secretary)
  • Christine Brook (Clerical Officer [Secretarial Team])
  • Sue Driffield (Clerical Officer [Secretarial Team])
  • Sonia Walters (Clerical Officer [Secretarial Team])
  • Karolin Sagayarajan (Patient Pathway Administrator)
  • Meredith Middleton (Patient Pathway Administrator)
  • Rajan Pandha (Patient Pathway Administrator)
  • Shane Caffrey (Family History Administrator)
  • Steph O'Neill (Family History Administrator)
  • Victoria Sanni (Clerical Officer [Medical Records])
  • Zi Foh (Clerical Officer [Medical Records])
  • Augustine Nwaose (Clerical Officer [Medical Records])